*
News: SMF - Just Installed!


Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

Re: VMControl with FSM - Capturing LPARs Internal Service Error 4630

Super Newbie Posts: 37 Karma: +0/-0 *
Re: VMControl with FSM - Capturing LPARs Internal Service Error
« on: February 26, 2014, 02:58:52 AM »
Thanks PureSystemsTech,

It will be relieve for me to hear that. I suspect this error affect VMControl operation because with this infrastructure I do capture LPAR and it show following error DNZVMP016E Internal application error

I see code error solve from IBM: This error occurs when an LPARis missing a ?default profile? ora ?current profile?. This will cause some VM Control operations to fail and will prevent the removal of the LPAR itself. To find out if a particular LPAR has these defined, issue the following command from the FSM command line:
lssyscfg -r prof -m <LPAR name> -Flpar_id:name

But I do check LPAR and it show no problem like that:

USERID@DC-PURE-FSM:~> lssyscfg -m Server-7895-23X-SN10B007B -r lpar -F lpar_id,name,default_profile,curr_profile
9,kmapp,kmapp,kmapp
7,finapp01,finapp01,finapp01
5,apptux01,apptux01,apptux01
4,kmdb01,kmdb01,kmdb01
3,EBANK_DB01,ebankdb01,ebankdb01
2,TemplateOS,TemplateOS,TemplateOS
1,7895_SN10B007B_VIOS1,7895_10B007B_VIOS1,7895_10B007B_VIOS1

Do you have any idea about this problem?
Administrator Sr. Member Posts: 309 Karma: +6/-0 *****
Re: Re: VMControl with FSM - Capturing LPARs Internal Service Error
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2014, 06:21:46 AM »
I have seen this error but it was during a deploy and not a capture. Try running inventory on the lpar profile then the storage array you are capturing the profile from then the vios OS object. I have seen these sequential inventory jobs clear up any inconsistencies in the FSM database.

Also, are you at the latest FSM code version 1.3.1? Could you attach the logs you recieve during the capture?

Thanks!
Super Newbie Posts: 37 Karma: +0/-0 *
Re: Re: VMControl with FSM - Capturing LPARs Internal Service Error
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2014, 09:48:33 PM »
Dear,

i''m using FSM 1.3.0 at the moment. FSM 1.3.1 had some problem with java 1.7 u51 (with affect SMIA tool to discover SAN Switch) before so i haven''t update it yet.

Here is the log in FSM when i capture this LPAR:

February 21, 2014 4:41:30 PM GMT+07:00-Level:1-MEID:0--MSG: Job "Capture virtual appliance - February 21, 2014 4:41:26 PM GMT+07:00" activated.
February 21, 2014 4:41:31 PM GMT+07:00-Level:200-MEID:0--MSG: Subtask "Capture virtual appliance" activated.
February 21, 2014 4:41:31 PM GMT+07:00-Level:200-MEID:0--MSG: Starting clients
February 21, 2014 4:41:31 PM GMT+07:00-Level:100-MEID:0--MSG: Clients started for task "Capture virtual appliance"
February 21, 2014 4:41:31 PM GMT+07:00-Level:200-MEID:0--MSG: Subtask activation status changed to "Active".
February 21, 2014 4:41:31 PM GMT+07:00-Level:200-MEID:0--MSG: Subtask activation status changed to "Active".
February 21, 2014 4:41:31 PM GMT+07:00-Level:1-MEID:0--MSG: Job activation status changed to "Active".
February 21, 2014 4:41:31 PM GMT+07:00-Level:200-MEID:0--MSG: Subtask activation status changed to "Active".
February 21, 2014 4:41:32 PM GMT+07:00-Level:150-MEID:0--MSG: DNZLOP411I Capturing virtual server TemplateOS to virtual appliance TempCap01 in repository PowerImgRepo01.
February 21, 2014 4:41:32 PM GMT+07:00-Level:150-MEID:0--MSG: DNZLOP912I Disk group to be captured: DG_01.08.2014-11:14:54:329
February 21, 2014 4:41:32 PM GMT+07:00-Level:150-MEID:0--MSG: DNZLOP900I Requesting SAN volume(s)
February 21, 2014 4:41:35 PM GMT+07:00-Level:150-MEID:0--MSG: DNZLOP948I New disk group: DG_02.21.2014-16:41:35:880
February 21, 2014 4:41:36 PM GMT+07:00-Level:150-MEID:0--MSG: DNZLOP413I The virtual appliance is using disk group DG_02.21.2014-16:41:35:880 with the following SAN volumes: [TempCap012].
February 21, 2014 4:41:36 PM GMT+07:00-Level:150-MEID:0--MSG: DNZLOP414I The virtual server is using disk group DG_01.08.2014-11:14:54:329 with the following SAN volumes: [SN10B007B_TEMPLATE_OS].
February 21, 2014 4:41:36 PM GMT+07:00-Level:150-MEID:0--MSG: DNZLOP909I Copying disk images
February 21, 2014 4:41:37 PM GMT+07:00-Level:150-MEID:0--MSG: DNZLOP409I Creating the OVF for the virtual appliance.
February 21, 2014 4:41:37 PM GMT+07:00-Level:150-MEID:0--MSG: DNZLOP944I Freeing disk group DG_02.21.2014-16:41:35:880
February 21, 2014 4:41:41 PM GMT+07:00-Level:200-MEID:0--MSG: Subtask activation status changed to "Complete with errors".
February 21, 2014 4:41:42 PM GMT+07:00-Level:1-MEID:0--MSG: Job activation status changed to "Complete with errors".
February 21, 2014 4:41:42 PM GMT+07:00-Level:50-MEID:0--MSG: DNZVMP016E Internal application error.
February 21, 2014 4:41:42 PM GMT+07:00-Level:200-MEID:0--MSG: Subtask activation status changed to "Complete with errors".

Someone told me that maybe the reason is Profile misconfiguration of VIOS.
Right now i'm trying to revoke access and rediscover, request access CMM as well as VIOS server to see if OK.

Thanks!
Administrator Sr. Member Posts: 309 Karma: +6/-0 *****
Re: Re: VMControl with FSM - Capturing LPARs Internal Service Error
« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2014, 10:10:41 PM »
It definetly sounds like an issue with VIOS, I agree. I'm not sure if it's necessarily a misconfiguration at this point because you were able to successfully create a VIOS repository and install the VMcontrol VIOS agents. If revoking access doesn't work and a re-inventory I would try the following.

  • Remove the VIOS OS from the FSM. (this will do a complete removal of all inventory of the VIOS OS object and allow for the FSM to start fresh)
  • Next discovery the VIOS server and perform inventory
    • Then perform the sequential inventory I mentioned earlier including an inventory last of the FSM FARM object If you don't feel like looking for the farm object the CLI command is much easier, just SSH to the FSM and run 'smcli collectinv -i <IPv4> -t Farm -p "All Inventory"'
    If the above doesn't work I would highly recommend updating Java and then proceeding with an update of your CMM (if its not at the latest level) and then FSM to version 1.3.1. Since the FSM code is essentially Systems Director under the covers it does an update of the underlying code for VMcontrol which will include the latest fixes. I have seen the most success with captures specifically in the newest release. Also, if you have your fabrics managed now, you should retain that management after the upgrade so you may not need to update Java unless of course something happens to the SMIA configuration.

    Good luck and keep us posted!
Super Newbie Posts: 37 Karma: +0/-0 *
Re: Re: VMControl with FSM - Capturing LPARs Internal Service Error
« Reply #4 on: February 27, 2014, 01:57:58 AM »
I do recheck access state and inventory of all system and i found out that FSM suddenly lose SAN Switch zoning information. I using smcli dumpstcfg command and output like this:

USERID@DC-PURE-FSM:~> smcli dumpstcfg
                                SAN Configuration
                        ------------------------------
........
----------------------------
NAME: STORAGE SUBSYSTEM/POOL

7895_SN10B006B_VIOS1:(No accessible containers)

............
7895_SN10B007B_VIOS1:(No accessible containers)
............

Command completed successfully.

Before it's work ok. All the Storage Groups are shown on command. I dont know why this happen. Now i'm try to update FSM 1.3.1 to see if they can fix this problem.
Super Newbie Posts: 37 Karma: +0/-0 *
Re: Re: VMControl with FSM - Capturing LPARs Internal Service Error
« Reply #5 on: February 27, 2014, 09:18:08 PM »
FSM 1.3.1 doesn''t help. Maybe i have to review all the process again.

By the way, have you ever meet IPv6 problem when discover SAN Swich using SMIA through FSM? At the initial phase, when discover SAN Switch i have to disable IPv6 in both Sw from CMM (customer use IPv4) because if i enable IPv6 SMIA tool cannot discover SAN Switch. But it seems some component or protocol still using ipv6 because i see this warning in FSM:

Unable to set Simple Network Management Protocol (SNMP) notification destination: Automatic configuration failed. To manually define SNMP settings, open System Configuration > Current Configuration and then edit the Protocol Configuration for the desired switch

Do you have any idea about that?
Administrator Sr. Member Posts: 309 Karma: +6/-0 *****
Re: Re: VMControl with FSM - Capturing LPARs Internal Service Error
« Reply #6 on: February 28, 2014, 08:40:16 AM »
Yes, so the internal communication of the chassis uses IPv6. You should never have to remove IPv6 protocol from the CMM. Try to enable IPv6 and then copy the SAN switch address and from the FSM run a 'ping6 <IPv6>

If you can ping the SAN switch then you should have no problems and I would try gaining access using the snmpadmin3 user that you defined when you setup SNMPv3 on the switch itself for the SNMP protocol.

IF you CANNOT ping the SAN switches then verify they are on the same IPv6 subnet as the FSM. The subnet for IPv6 is the first 4 octets of the IPv6 address.

I have seen removing the switch entirely from the chassis VIA the FSM and then running a chassis inventory clear this up, it could take a little while for the switch to repopulate.

Let me know you status. Thanks!!

One question, are your SAN switches connected to a core switch? In our lab we cannot discover our core switches and only our chassis switches show up with green check marks. I agree that you should try to revisit the process. Sometimes removing all components from the FSM and starting fresh is the best approach.
Super Newbie Posts: 37 Karma: +0/-0 *
Re: VMControl with FSM - Capturing LPARs Internal Service Error
« Reply #7 on: March 02, 2014, 10:40:01 PM »
OK, I will do try ipv6 troubleshooting. Our SAN Switches are only used for internal connection between v7000 and internal blade server in CMM.
By the way, do you meet any issue with SMIA tool using java 1.7 u51 in FSM 1.3.1? My PC client have update using java 1.7 u51 as SMIA Tool requirement but we still meet Application Error when launching Discover Fabric and other function in SMIA Tool.
Administrator Sr. Member Posts: 309 Karma: +6/-0 *****
Re: VMControl with FSM - Capturing LPARs Internal Service Error
« Reply #8 on: March 03, 2014, 04:59:07 PM »
As we all know Java is an absolute pain. The only thing I could suggest is to try another browser or update to the latest java code.
Super Newbie Posts: 37 Karma: +0/-0 *
Re: VMControl with FSM - Capturing LPARs Internal Service Error
« Reply #9 on: March 03, 2014, 09:24:10 PM »
yep, i use java 1.7 u51 which is the lasted java code but still no luck. Now i have to use FSM 1.3.0 again :(
Administrator Sr. Member Posts: 309 Karma: +6/-0 *****
Re: VMControl with FSM - Capturing LPARs Internal Service Error
« Reply #10 on: March 04, 2014, 01:34:46 PM »
Try a different browser? I always have success with Firefox and you definitely should update to 1.3.1.
Super Newbie Posts: 37 Karma: +0/-0 *
Re: VMControl with FSM - Capturing LPARs Internal Service Error
« Reply #11 on: March 05, 2014, 09:21:58 AM »
After rebuild FSM, VMcontrol work ok. Still dont know what cause the problem :( pureflex seem have to be improved to work better.

By the way, have you try to implement Smart CloudnEntry from those VMcontrol infrastructure.
Administrator Sr. Member Posts: 309 Karma: +6/-0 *****
Re: VMControl with FSM - Capturing LPARs Internal Service Error
« Reply #12 on: March 05, 2014, 09:30:05 AM »
Dongdp,

You are full of great news today! So were you able to capture your LPAR??

As far as SmartCloud entry, yes, we have had a chance to do numerous tests on this. I wouldn't say we have expert experience but basically if you are able to capture and deploy LPARs from VMcontrol within the FSM then you should be able to deploy LPARs from SmartCloud Entry. Configuration of SmartCloud Entry is pretty straightforward and intuitive.

Let me know if you have any questions!

Thanks!
Super Newbie Posts: 37 Karma: +0/-0 *
Re: VMControl with FSM - Capturing LPARs Internal Service Error
« Reply #13 on: March 05, 2014, 10:56:48 AM »
Not great at all :) all is around vmcontrol. Yes i can capture LPAR as well. Basically FSM send control to take Flash copy in v7000. But i see it take too long, about 2 hours for 100GB. How about you?

For Smart Cloud Entry, first i use SCE 3.1 but when update FSM to 1.3.1 Vmcontrol update to 2.4.4 so if i want to usr SCE maybe i have to use SCE 3.2.


Administrator Sr. Member Posts: 309 Karma: +6/-0 *****
Re: VMControl with FSM - Capturing LPARs Internal Service Error
« Reply #14 on: March 05, 2014, 11:36:29 AM »
The flashcopy process could take a while but once that completes you will have a working image to deploy from.

Concerning your SCE question. Yes, you would need to upgrade to 3.2 to manage the 2.4.4 VMcontrol code level. I experienced the same issue about a month ago but after the update of SCE we were back to it.