*
News: SMF - Just Installed!


Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

Smart Cloud Entry 3.2 and VMControl 2.4.4.x in FSM 1.3.1 compatible 2827

Super Newbie Posts: 37 Karma: +0/-0 *
Smart Cloud Entry 3.2 and VMControl 2.4.4.x in FSM 1.3.1 compatible
« on: April 08, 2014, 05:50:40 AM »
Dear all,

Have you ever been used SCE 3.2 to manage VMControl 2.4.4.x in FSM 1.3.1? In my case when i add Power Cloud in SCE (which is connect to FSM VMControl), the adding cloud Process is ok. But there arent any Instance appear for that Power Cloud in SCE GUI while in FSM i have create a number of LPAR which have running production application.

A few month ago, i using SCE 3.1 and FSM 1.3.0 and the instance appear as normal. Now i don't know how to make those instance appear in SCE. Do i have to create 1 LPAR template for VMControl in FSM? Because in FSM VMControl mark with "!" as in image.
Administrator Sr. Member Posts: 309 Karma: +6/-0 *****
Re: Smart Cloud Entry 3.2 and VMControl 2.4.4.x in FSM 1.3.1 compatible
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2014, 09:21:51 AM »
Good morning Dondp,

A few questions.

1) is this a NEW instance of SCE or did you migrate to the newest version
2) is this from your rebuilt FSM at latest code 1.3.1 or was it upgraded from a previously configured version 1.3.0?

From your picture it looks like from VMcontrol you do not have any running instances. This tells me that this looks like a fresh build and you may need to try to import your LPAR images from your VIOS repositories which are usually placed in the /lpp_source directory.

In my experience in order for SCE to see your running LPARs or new golden Images then the following needs to be true.

1) In order to see running LPARs deployed within SCE then SCE has to be configured PREVIOUS to deploying LPARs with VMcontrol. (SCE discovers running LPARs in VMcontrol differently than it discovers VMware)
2) Along those same lines VMcontrol needs to be able to see the your golden images in order for SCE to see them.

Let me know your thoughts.

thanks!
Super Newbie Posts: 37 Karma: +0/-0 *
Re: Smart Cloud Entry 3.2 and VMControl 2.4.4.x in FSM 1.3.1 compatible
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2014, 12:40:26 PM »
Dear,

This is new instance of SCE because i uses vmware appliance from IBM and FSM was updated from 1.3.0 to 1.3.1. At this time no LPAR image (template) available but there are still have LPAR running in that Power Node.

The thing is i havent mentioned about LPARs deployed by SCE. It just about LPAR created by using FSM (powervm function). I think SCE have to auto discover of all LPAR running in PowerVM without Template of VMControl like Vmware.

So do you think i have to capture LPAR image for VMcontrol have full function.
Administrator Sr. Member Posts: 309 Karma: +6/-0 *****
Re: Smart Cloud Entry 3.2 and VMControl 2.4.4.x in FSM 1.3.1 compatible
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2014, 07:54:19 PM »
Yes.  Once you capture or import your first lpar/mksysb you will be able to deploy lpars to your power nodes and the template/golden image along with the deployed lpars will be visible in SCE.

Let me know your progress! :)
Super Newbie Posts: 15 Karma: +1/-0 *
Re: Smart Cloud Entry 3.2 and VMControl 2.4.4.x in FSM 1.3.1 compatible
« Reply #4 on: April 10, 2014, 04:41:37 AM »
Hi

When you upgrade your FSm to 1.30 or lower to 1.3.1, there is a little probleme with san and fabrics manage true the fsm.

when i've upgraded my fsm i need to reconfigure all my fabric and san to fsm because with the command smcli dumpstcfg my san switch and my storwise have dissapeared from the fsm.

in graphic mode every thing is ok but in ssh mode not.

so i ve done this plan

remove my datasource in the fsm, unmanage my v7000
upgrade the vios sharestorage pool agent and vios agent repository on each vios from the fsm in 1.3.1 because with the upgrade the version of vm control has changed.

after the change of agent and a new inventory , manage again my v7000 and my fabric true the smia tool (i ve FC 5022 brocade switch)
make my datasource to fabric and make sshrsap connexion between fsm and storwize.

i ve launched a inventory on the 3 object of fsm and on my vios and my storwize, and after in my SCE in 3.2 all my lpar present on the power node come up in the sce.

for sce the logo of vm control must be green

fsm is a great product but for each release you have new problems  ;D

tell me if it's ok for you