*
News: SMF - Just Installed!


Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

Route problem 1938

Jr. Member Posts: 97 Karma: +0/-0 **
Route problem
« on: December 03, 2014, 11:27:24 AM »
Hello! 8)


IBMBaldeNetwork#show ip route
Mgmt routes:
Status code: * - best
    Destination         Mask          Gateway        Type      Tag      Metric   If
  --------------- --------------- --------------- --------- --------- ---------- --
  0.0.0.0         0.0.0.0         192.168.x.254  indirect  static               128
* 192.168.x.0    255.255.255.0   192.168.x.76   direct    fixed                128
* 192.168.x.76   255.255.255.255 192.168.x.76   local     addr                 128
* 192.168.x.255  255.255.255.255 192.168.x.255  broadcast broadcast            128

Data routes:
Status code: * - best
    Destination         Mask          Gateway        Type      Tag      Metric   If
  --------------- --------------- --------------- --------- --------- ---------- --
* 0.0.0.0         0.0.0.0         192.168.61.254  indirect  static                1
* 192.168.x.0    255.255.255.0   192.168.x.1    direct    fixed                 1
* 192.168.x.1    255.255.255.255 192.168.x.1    local     addr                  1
* 192.168.x.255  255.255.255.255 192.168.x.255  broadcast broadcast             1
* 224.0.0.0       224.0.0.0       0.0.0.0         martian   martian             
* 224.0.0.0       240.0.0.0       0.0.0.0         multicast addr                 
* 255.255.255.255 255.255.255.255 255.255.255.255 broadcast broadcast       

why

IBMBaldeNetwork# traceroute 10.1.1.1
Connecting via MGT port.
[host 10.1.1.1, max-hops 32, delay 2048 msec]
 1  192.168.x.20    2 ms
 2  192.168.x.254   3 ms
 3  10.1.1.1       1 ms

IBMBaldeNetwork#traceroute 10.1.1.1 data-port 
Connecting via DATA port.
[host 10.1.1.1, max-hops 32, delay 2048 msec]
 1  192.168.x.254   39 ms
 2  10.1.1.1       1 ms

Why traffic by deffault pass throught MGT port?

sorry for eng. not my native
From Russia With Love
Jr. Member Posts: 97 Karma: +0/-0 **
Re: Route problem
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2014, 02:07:37 PM »
mb need enable managment external port? but can't this doo

system:switch[1]> ifconfig -ep enabled -em enabled
-ep cannot be reconfigured while Protected Mode is enabled on the CMM.

sorry for eng. not my native
From Russia With Love
Administrator Sr. Member Posts: 309 Karma: +6/-0 *****
Re: Route problem
« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2014, 04:18:48 PM »
Liks,

I believe protected mode is enabled on the switch which blocks the CMMs requests to make changes.

Excerpt from IBM NOS Application Guide:

Protected Mode PG.43
Protected Mode settings allow the switch administrator to block the management
module from making configuration changes that affect switch operation. The switch
retains control over those functions.
The following management module functions are disabled when Protected Mode is
turned on:
? External Ports: Enabled/Disabled
? External management over all ports: Enabled/Disabled
? Restore Factory Defaults
? New Static IP Configuration
In this release, configuration of the functions listed above are restricted to the local
switch when you turn Protected Mode on. In future releases, individual control over
each function may be added.
Note: Before you turn Protected Mode on, make sure that external management
(Telnet) access to one of the switch?s IP interfaces is enabled.
Use the following command to turn Protected Mode on: /oper/prm/on
If you lose access to the switch through the external ports, use the console port to
connect directly to the switch, and configure an IP interface with Telnet access.


Link to Application Guide:
http://pic.dhe.ibm.com/infocenter/flexsys/information/topic/com.ibm.acc.networkdevices.doc/88y7941.pdf
Jr. Member Posts: 97 Karma: +0/-0 **
Re: Route problem
« Reply #3 on: December 04, 2014, 03:24:12 AM »
thx for reply
yes, i found it

but i can't manage this

Chassis Management -> I/O Modules -> ?General

?Enable external management over all ports - Enable or disable external configuration management of the selected I/O module. When this field is set to disabled, only the management module ports can be used to change the configuration on this module. When the field is set to enabled, all ports, including internal, external, and management module ports, can be used for configuration. This setting cannot be changed when protected mode is enabled for the selected I/O module.

in BladeCenter E i found where i can manage external ports for passing manegment traffic

but in FlexSystem i don't see in General I\O Modules this function..


only when RESET CMM in first Wizard i can manage this ( Managment traffic trought External port )

sorry for eng. not my native
From Russia With Love
Jr. Member Posts: 97 Karma: +0/-0 **
Re: Route problem
« Reply #4 on: December 04, 2014, 09:23:10 AM »
hmmm

1. Reset CMM
2. Configure Managment External POrts
3. go to EN4093R


IBMBaldeNetwork(config)#ip gateway ?
  <1-2>  IP data gateway indices
  <3>    IP EXT management gateway
  <4>    IP INT management gateway

<1-2>  IP data gateway indices - this is need for failover i understand

<4>    IP INT management gateway - this configure throught CMM

what mean this ? <3>    IP EXT management gateway

IBMBaldeNetwork(config)#ip gateway 3 ?
  mac  Configure Management Gateway on a stack unit identified by its MAC address

little confused

DATA traffic pass throught  <1-2>  IP data gateway indices

Managment traffic pass throught <4>    IP INT management gateway

when and how work <3>    IP EXT management gateway ?
and how need configure =(

for example

CMM - 192.168.1.254 VLAN2
EN4093R in stack - 192.168.2.254 VLAN3
                            - 192.168.1.253 VLAN2

DATA traffic flow throught DATAPLANE ( uplink from EXT port )
Managment traffic flow throught CMM

how impliment EXT gateway ? and how he work with MGT gateway on 1 switch


sorry for eng. not my native
From Russia With Love
Administrator Sr. Member Posts: 309 Karma: +6/-0 *****
Re: Route problem
« Reply #5 on: December 04, 2014, 01:30:15 PM »
I'm not extrememly familiar with this but have you tried to configure an IP on one of the external interfaces to connect to the switch from that for remote administration.

Take a look at page 44 (Setup Part 4: IP Configuration) in this guide.

http://pic.dhe.ibm.com/infocenter/flexsys/information/topic/com.ibm.acc.networkdevices.doc/00d2331.pdf