*
News: SMF - Just Installed!


Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

x240- EN2024 - EN2092 and Cisco 3560 1716

Super Newbie Posts: 3 Karma: +0/-0 *
x240- EN2024 - EN2092 and Cisco 3560
« on: December 01, 2015, 04:44:33 PM »
Hi I've a simple configuration with 7 x240+EN2024 nodes  in a Flex Chasis with 2 EN2092 switches, connected to a Cisco 3560 with production vlan (116), I want to connect the INTA1 port to the lan behind th 3560

- I must define the EXTA1 as trunk to connect to a trunk port in cisco 3560 ?
- INTA1 must be in the same VLAN 116?

Something else must be define?

Thanks


Administrator Sr. Member Posts: 309 Karma: +6/-0 *****
Re: x240- EN2024 - EN2092 and Cisco 3560
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2015, 07:29:24 PM »
Afrugone,

If you want multiple VLANs to pass to the chassis then, yes, you would need to configure EXTA1 as a trunk port. You could leave INTA1 at VLAN 1 but if you want that server to only have access to the production VLAN of 116 then INTA1 would need to have 'switchport access vlan 116' defined.

Your running-config should include the following.
!
interface port INTA1
        switchport access vlan 116
        exit
!
interface port EXT1
        switchport mode trunk
        switchport trunk allowed vlan 116
        switchport trunk native vlan 116
        exit
!   
vlan 116
        name "Production VLAN"
!     
spanning-tree stp <STP group #> vlan 116
!
 
If you are configuring both switches to the same switch then you would need to be sure and configure Spanning Tree to avoid loops in the network.

Thanks!
Super Newbie Posts: 3 Karma: +0/-0 *
Re: x240- EN2024 - EN2092 and Cisco 3560
« Reply #2 on: December 02, 2015, 05:07:56 PM »
Thanks for your soon  answer, I've configured as your recommendation, but I don't have any communication, let me show a Little diagram of my configuration:

Node1 - (VLAN116)INTA1- EXT1 -- (trunk) -- 3560P7 -- 3560(P1) -- 3570 --UserPC(VLAN116)
I configured EXT2 same as INTA1, connect a PC to that port and Works perfectly, I think something is missing in the trunk configuration.

For the Cisco 3560 I used the same configuration to connect to other switches of my network, it is:

interface GigabitEthernet0/7
switchport trunk encapsulation dot1q
switchport mode trunk
srr-queue bandwidth share 1 30 35 5
priority-queue out
mls qos trust cos

Is this compatible with EXT1 configuration

interface port EXT1
        switchport mode trunk
        switchport trunk allowed vlan 116
        switchport trunk native vlan 116
        exit



Administrator Sr. Member Posts: 309 Karma: +6/-0 *****
Re: x240- EN2024 - EN2092 and Cisco 3560
« Reply #3 on: December 03, 2015, 09:09:38 AM »
Hi Afrugone,

It looks like you may need to add the 116 VLAN to the Cisco GigabitEthernet0/7? Also, can you attached your INTA1 switchport config?

For another reference take a look at the PDF at the link below titled "Deploying IBM Pureflex into a Cisco Network".

https://lenovopress.com/redp4901.pdf

Thanks!
Super Newbie Posts: 3 Karma: +0/-0 *
Re: x240- EN2024 - EN2092 and Cisco 3560
« Reply #4 on: December 03, 2015, 11:27:36 AM »
Thanks for your asnwer, I appreciate very much you help. Tha INTA1 port is configured as you recommneded:

interface port INTA1
        switchport access vlan 116
       

I'll ask the cisco guy were he configure the 116 VLAN.

Thanks and Regards